Guest Author – Michael Mandrake, Reconnection **OUT NOW**

 

Please welcome Michael Mandrake (AKA Sharita Lira), here to tell us all about her wonderful book – Reconnection.


Rec2

Rec3

Blurb: Every once in a while, the average looking guy scores!

Robert McIntyre is a closeted, average looking sports columnist for the Daily Read. Unfortunately, his desire to stay in has cost him the chance at love more than once. However, now it seems his luck will change since his editor has asked him to interview, Jake Valenta. Jake and Robert knew one another in college and when he heard from a mutual friend that Jake might be bisexual, Robert didn’t believe him.

Before Robert’s trip, they discover a mutual affection for one another. Jake shares his desire to stay behind closed doors because he can’t stand being called a fag, but desperately wants Robert to be his man.

Robert and Jake want a chance to reconnect on a more personal level, but will this budding relationship ruin their careers?

 

Rec1Buylinks

 Evernight Publishing

Amazon

ARe

Smashwords

Bookstrand

 

Excerpt

“Hey Larry, Jacob said you wanted to see me?”

Larry looked up from his laptop. “Yeah Robert, come on in.”

I closed the door and waltzed in, worried about what he’d say. Would he hound me about the deadline or force me to write about the lockout? I hoped neither because I seriously wasn’t in the mood to argue.

“So, Robert. I know you have a deadline in a couple of hours but I’m willing to let that go if you’d make a trip to the minors. Since the overpriced sissies don’t wanna play, we’ll make our own story. Besides, Jake Valenta might come up and play for the Sox this year if they reach an agreement and we want to be the first to cover him.”

Jake?

I ignored Larry’s comment and focused on the topic at hand.

Jake?

Instantly my mind went to mush upon hearing that name. Jake and I attended Oklahoma State with two years between us. Though we never dated, we did hang around the same circles, mostly involving sports. Baseball was his passion and mine, though I wasn’t as talented as he was on the field. Since my expertise was behind the pen and or microphone, I called a couple of games he played in and before I graduated, I interviewed him for the school paper. That same article was later published in the town’s local newspaper.

Now, Jake plays for the Sox triple A affiliate, Carolina Dukes of the southern league. Though we haven’t talked in years, I’ve followed the guy’s career and took a greater interest when he was selected with the fifteenth pick in June 2011. The experts raved about his speed, accurate throwing arm, and hitting ability as well as his baseball acumen and stamina. Unfortunately his transition wasn’t as easy as many predicted but now, he was tearing up minor league pitching and set to make the move to the pros.

“Robert?”

“I’m sorry, Larry. I…I was just thinking about something.” When the heat rushed to my cheeks, I turned my attention elsewhere. Anything so my boss wouldn’t notice me jumping for joy about covering baseball’s next phenom.

Larry appeared perplexed by my answer. He shrugged, “Well Robert, I need you to get focused on this trip. I want you to get the story on this young man. And I figured since the two of you went to school together you’ll get him to talk.”

 

About the Muse and Author

Michael Mandrake pens complex characters already comfortable with their sexuality. Thorough these, he builds worlds not centered on erotica but rather the mainstream plots we might encounter in everyday life through personal experiences or the media.

To find out more please visit Michael Mandrake at WordPress

Author Sharita Lira: In one word, crazy. Just crazy enough to have 3 4 different muses running around in her head, driving her to sheer exhaustion with new plot bunnies and complex characters.

In addition to being a computer geek and a metalhead, Sharita loves live music, reading, and perusing the net for sexy men to be her muses. She’s also a founding member and contributor to the heavy metal ezine Fourteeng.net.

For more information, please visit http://www.thelitriad.com as well as her Facebook fanpage, The Literary Triad.


Homoerotica in Sports

Michael Mandrake aka Sharita Lira

Homoerotic: The tendency to be aroused by a member of the same sex. Dictionary.com

Homoerotica: Imagery that depicts same sex acts. (My best definition)

In sports, homosexuality seems to be taboo. Think about the amount of professional players who’ve come out the closet. Most haven’t until they stopped playing or haven’t at all for fear of the backlash. Teammates, coaches, fans, and the press could get a hold of the information and smudge their name. Unfortunately, being gay or lesbian is unforgivable in the world of sports, more so than any part of entertainment. Musicians, actors, models can come out as gay and yeah, their careers might suffer a little, but seemingly not as much as an athlete. This really is a shame, especially since all sports are homoerotic in some nature.

Yeah, and you thought this was one of those posts where I’d talk about how wrong it is for athletes to be detested if they come out. Nah! That would be too easy. This is more of a humorous post. *BLMorticia part of me talking* How can sports be so against being gay when almost every facet is homoerotic?

*laughs*

I mean really? Football, baseball, basketball, not so much hockey but to an extent the four majors should be a must watch for those of us who love the homoerotic.

Let’s picture this shall we?

FootballFootball: Tight pants, men grabbing each other and holding. A man behind another man in a crouch as if they were, in uh, yeah you know. *laughs* Players love to hug, pat each other on the butt. They walk around locker rooms, sometimes naked. Do you think one or a few of them were gay they would enjoy the action? Sure they would!

 

 

 

BaseballBaseball: More of the same as football and add that baseball players seem to be more affectionate than footballers. They hug more, pat each other’s buts and back, slap hands, chest bump. Slide into one another … hmm that could be taken a number of ways. *laughs* Baseball is by far my favorite. I love that I can see the player’s faces. One of the turnoffs about football is I don’t see some of the pretty faces unless they take their helmet off. *sulks* Baseball, you can see fully and a lot of them are attractive. *grins*

Basketball: More of the same except, ooh shorts. *laughs* Basketball players are affectionate too aren’t they? Hugging, bumping into one another, drawing charges, fouls. Knocking one another over. Hmmm… Not a lot of clothes either. The jersey, shorts, a cup, socks, and shoes. Whew, *fan self* If only there were as many good looking men there as there are in baseball. *sigh*

I won’t go any further because you get the idea. These men who are supposed to be oh so macho are engaged in a kid’s game. They’re affectionate, when the team wins or for encouragement, they pat one another. And yet, if one or a couple of them come out the closet, they might be blacklisted for life. Sure, there are happy stories, but most aren’t told until after they’re done playing. How can that be when the homoerotic is just part of the sport?

*snickers* I don’t get it. Still, I’ll continue to enjoy it. It’s fueled a lot of fantasies and since I’m an author, I’ve got stories to write. One of which I hope to get done next year either on my own or through a publisher; a baseball tale where I’m using one of my faves as the muse. I’m looking forward to writing that!

Eventually. *grins*

In the meantime, I’ll continue to take pleasure in watching the inspiration on the screen.

About cazpedroso

Author of mmromance Find me on www.cazpedroso.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Release Days and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guest Author – Michael Mandrake, Reconnection **OUT NOW**

  1. SLiraErotica says:

    TY for hosting me!

    Like

  2. SLiraErotica says:

    Reblogged this on Michael Mandrake and commented:
    Last stop of the Reconnection Blogtour

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

